Monday, March 24, 2008

2008 O2C Doeberl Cup

The 2008 O2C Doeberl Cup was won by GM Varuzhan Akobian of USA with a score of 7.5/9. There was an excellent turnout of 8 GMs and approximately 231 players. The Doeberl Cup consists of four sections - Premier, Major, Minor and U1200s, each with their own tournament.

The highest ranked players going into the Premier tournament were GMs Zhang, Zhong (2617),
Malakhatko, Vadim (2600) and Akobian, Varuzhan (2599). These players were from Singapore, Belgium and USA respectively.

The Doeberl Cup Major was won by Blair Mandla with 6/7.
The Doeberl Cup Minor was won by Emma Guo with 7/7.
The Doeberl Cup Under 1200 was won by Andrew Pan with 6/7.
The Doeberl Cup Lightning was won by GM Varuzhan Akobian with 8/9.

Final round pairings and crosstables for all events can be found at

No comments: