Wednesday, January 13, 2010

2009/2010 Australian Chess Championships

The 2009/2010 Australian Chess Championships was held at "norths" (North Sydney Leagues Club) in Cammeray NSW from the 2nd-13th of January. The top seed was GM Zong-Yuan Zhao (2572).

Here are the final results:
1st GM Zong-Yuan Zhao on 10/11, becomes Australian Chess Champion
2nd IM George Xie (2448) on 9/11 (I expect this performance was good enough for a GM norm)
3rd GM Gawain Jones (2561) on 7.5/11

Click here for the final crosstable to the 2009/2010 Australian Chess Championships.

The Major was won by David Garner (higher countback, 2178) and Jason Hu (2113) with 9/11.

The Minor was won by Mark Stokes (1845) with 9/11.

The Lightning was won by GM Gawain Jones (2537) with 9.5/11.

Click here for the results to all the sections of the 2009/2010 Australian Chess Championships.

No comments: