Thursday, January 7, 2010

2009/2010 Australian Lightning Chess Championship

The 2009/2010 Australian Lightning Chess Championship was played on the 5th of January, 2010 at "norths" (North Sydney Leagues Club) in Cammeray NSW as part of the Australian Championship. The 88-player turnout was a surprisingly strong field and the top seed was GM Gawain Jones (2537).

Here are the final results:

1st GM Gawain Jones with 9.5/11
2nd-3rd Moulthun Ly (2338), Junta Ikeda (2336) with 9/11

As GM Jones is still associated with England according to the ACF, there was a playoff between Moulthun Ly and Junta Ikeda. Junta defeated Moulthun 2-0 and became the new Australian Lightning Champion.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.